2017 SWANZ & USC Finalists

The New Zealand Writers Guild is honoured to announce the 8th Annual SWANZ (Script Writer Awards New Zealand) and Unproduced Script Competition Finalists.

NZWG is proud to be awarding writers in nine categories at the 2017 SWANZ Awards ceremony. The following categories – plus the NZWG Mentorship Award – will be announced at The Sweat Shop on Thursday 28 September 2017.

Door entry is available HERE

The SWANZ are proudly supported by New Zealand Film CommissionFinal DraftSouth Pacific PicturesATEED and Filthy Productions.

2017 SWANZ – Finalists

South Pacific Pictures – Best Feature Film
The Inland Road – Jackie van Beek
Waru – Briar Grace-Smith, Casey Kaa, Ainsley Gardiner, Katie Wolfe, Chelsea Cohen, Renae Maihi, Paula Jones, Josephine Stewart-Te Whiu
Best Short Film
Mr Bernstein – Guy Hamling, Deb Filler
My Brother Mitchell – Todd Karehana
Shout at the Ground – Joe Lonie
The Pissy Tits Street Gang – Rosie Howells
Best Play
Magdalena of Mangere – Louise Tu’u
Te Puhi – Cian Elyse Waiti
Top This – Emilia Marriott
ATEED Best Episode TV Series – Drama
Dirty Laundry, Episode 12 – Jess Sayer
The Brokenwood Mysteries Series 3, Episode 4 – Tim Balme
The Cul de Sac, Series 2, Episode 6 – Stephen J Campbell
Shortland Street 25th Anniversary Special – Nick Malmholt, Harry McNaughton
Westside Series 2, Episode 10 – James Griffin
Best Web Episode
Auckward Love, Season 3, Episode 1 – Jess Sayer
Darryl. An Outward Bound Story, Episode 2 – Millen Baird, John Argall
Guess I’m Coming to Dinner – Roseanne Liang
The Cricket Bat – Mike Minogue
Best One-off TV Drama
Jean – Paula Boock, Donna Malane
Why Does Love? – Pip Hall, Philip Smith
Best New Writer
Cian Elyse Waiti
Jess Sayer
Mike Minogue
Rosie Howells
Todd Karehana

2017 Unproduced Script Competition – Finalists

TV Pilot
Mountain View – Carl Smith
Saviour – Rene LeBas
The Wrong Side of the Grass – Rene LeBas
Feature Film
Daisy Chain – Shoshana McCallum, Natalie Medlock
Blind Eye – April Phillips
Bootblack – Richard Goodwin
This entry was posted in Latest Entries On The Bulletin Board, NZWG News. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
Code by Michael Bao