NZ Film Awards 2017 winners

Moas 2017 – Awards Night & Winners

The fantastic Gaylene Preston was presented the Services to Cinema award, at this year’s industry glamour event, by long time friend and collaborator, Sam Neil, for dedication to New Zealand film.

Moas 2017 Angela Bloomfield Kate McDermott

NZWG members at the Moas: Kate McDermott (left) with Angela Bloomfield,

Moas 2017 Robyn Davies, Natalie Medlock and Shoshana McCallums





Shoshana McCallum (far right) with Robyn Davies and Natalie Medlock

Rialto Channel NZ Film Awards Winners

Moas 2017 SamNeillandGaylenePreston

Gaylene’s long and illustrious career is predicated on the premise espoused on her web page: If we don’t tell New Zealand stories, no one else will…

Gaylene is a writer, director, and producer, with an exceptional career spanning more than three decades. Her award-winning work has screened extensively at international festivals including Venice, Sundance, Toront and London. Gaylene has served on industry boards including the New Zealand Film Commission and New Zealand On Air, and has chaired Creative NZ’s Film Innovation Fund and the NZ Film and Television Awards Society.

Gaylene Preston and her Nikon cameraShe is renowned as a mentor and was the first filmmaker to receive a Laureate Award from the NZ Arts Foundation. In 2010 she received the inaugural lifetime achievement award for outstanding contribution to documentary from Documentary Edge, a Screenwriters Mentorship Award and a WIFT NZ Award for outstanding contribution to the New Zealand Screen Industry. Gaylene is an Officer of the NZ Order of Merit for services to the film industry. Gaylene’s feature titles include Home By Christmas, Bread And Rose, Ruby & Rata, Perfect Strangers and Mr Wrong (aka Dark Of The Night ­ USA). Recent works include TV drama Hope and Wire. Early work included working as coordinator on Merata Mita’s seminal work Patu!

Services to Cinema Award

Gaylene Preston (NZWG, pictured – right – above, with Sam Neil – left)

Feature Film Categories 

Rialto Channel Best Film
Hunt for the Wilderpeople (Carthew Neal, Leanne Saunders, Taika Waititi – NZWG, Matt Noonan)

Flying Fish Best Director
Taika Waititi – NZWG (Hunt for the Wilderpeople) Best Screenplay
Taika Waititi – NZWG (Hunt for the Wilderpeople)

Man O’ War Vineyards Best Actress
Miriama McDowell (The Great Maiden’s Blush)

Steinlager Tokyo Dry Best Actor
Julian Dennison (Hunt for the Wilderpeople)

Manukau Urban Maori Authority Best Supporting Actress
Rima Te Wiata (Hunt for the Wilderpeople)

Te Whanau O Waipareira Best Supporting Actor
Sam Neill (Hunt for the Wilderpeople)

Park Road Post Best Self Funded Film
The Great Maiden’s Blush (Jeremy Macey, Andrea Bosshard, Isobel Mebus, Shane Loader)

Imagezone Best Cinematography
Robbie Ryan (Slow West)

Letterboxd Best Production Design
Kim Sinclair (Slow West)

Mandy VFX Best Editor
Michael Horton with Jonathan Woodford-Robinson (Mahana)

Bigpop Studios Best Score
Jed Kurzel (Slow West)

Bigpop Studios Best Sound
Phil Burton (Chronesthesia)

Images and Sound Best Visual Effects
Curious Film, Weta Digital, Pixel Juice (Hunt for the Wilderpeople)

Daniel Le Brun Best Costume Design
Kirsty Cameron (Slow West)

MAC Best Makeup Design
Vanessa Hurley, Roger Murray, Andrew Beattie (Deathgasm)

Documentary Categories 

New Zealand Film Commission Best Documentary
The Ground We Won (Miriam Smith)

Directors & Editors Guild of NZ Best Documentary Director
David Stubbs (Belief: The Possession of Janet Moses)

PLS Best Documentary Cinematography
Christopher Pryor (The Ground We Won)

Lotech Media Best Documentary Editor
Simon Coldrick (Tickled)

Short Film Categories

Halcyon Digital Best Self Funded Short Film
Not Like Her (Hash Perambalam – NZWG, Lucy Stonex, Brendon Donovan)

Little Island Best Short Film
Madam Black (Ivan Barge, Matt Harris)

Actors Agents Association of New Zealand Best Short Film Actress
Angela Bloomfield (Linda’s List)

Actors Agents Association of New Zealand Best Short Film Actor
Cohen Holloway (Feeder)

Television Feature

NZOnAir Best Television Feature
Abandoned (James Heyward, Liz DiFiore)

This entry was posted in Industry News & Events, Latest Entries On The Bulletin Board, New Zealand Industry News, Obituaries and Tributes, Winners. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
Code by Michael Bao