NZWG Seed Grants

2016 Seed Logo WEB COL

Created by Writers for Writers

To give this industry its best chance of success we need strong and new ideas. We need stories that resonate. NZWG believe in different pathways for developing these stories. We need to allow writers space to find their voices.

The goal of these New Zealand Film Commission funded grants is to create an opportunity for writers to create feature film scripts.  Seed provides unencumbered development funding specifically for writers only.

NZWG Seed Grants are offered over three rounds this year with a total of ten grants of $10,000 (+GST) made available for the development of feature film scripts. Three grants were awarded in the first round, with seven grants available across Rounds Two and Three for 2016. Included in each grant $2,500 to put toward script consultation per feature film script.

These grants represent an opportunity for writers to be innovative, to be brilliant, and to be excited about the chance to create something they own.



Please stand by for updates.


Please use these as a preparation guide only – stand by for updates for 2017.

Step 1. Order Online

Seed Grant application plus optional feedback if required.

Step 2. Print Application Coversheet with T&Cs (updated version to come)

Step 3. Read the NZWG Seed Grants Guide (stand by for an improvedDo’s and Don’ts)

Step 4. Deliver completed application by midday on deadline date


NB: Outcome of each NZWG Seed Grant round is notified six weeks following the deadline date.

NZ Writers Guild Seed Grants are made possible by generous funding provided by The New Zealand Film Commission – Te Tumu Whakaata Taonga


Previous Recipients of NZWG Seed Grant Funding

 2016 Round 3

Will Agnew
Steven Baker
Ciarin Smith & David Butler
Tim Van Dammen

2016 Round 2

Nathalie Boltt
Dean Hewison & Richard Faulkner
Paul Simei-Barton

2016 Round 1

Shoshana Sachidhanandam
Fiona Jackson & Daniel Fleming
Stephen Kang

2015 Round 3

Joe Lonie
Anna Francino & Siobhan Marshall

2015 Round 2

Jonothan Cullinane
Ross Hastings
Jason Lei Howden

2015 Round 1

Steve Barr & Casey Whelan
Daryl Belbin
Charlie Bleakley
Cushla Dillon
Matthew Nagel

2014 Round 3

Max Currie
Warren Friend
Jeremy Wadzinski

2014 Round 2

Juliet Bergh
Arthur Meek
Miriam Smith
Aidee Walker

2014 Round 1

Andrew James
Dianne Taylor
Jackie Van Beek & Madeleine Sami

Code by Michael Bao