Congratulations to our winners in nine categories at last night’s 2016 SWANZ Awards ceremony.

The New Zealand Writers Guild is honoured to announce
the Winners of the seventh annual SWANZ & USC
(Script Writer Awards NZ & Unproduced Script Competition)

Hosts Jackie van Beek and Jesse Griffin set a fun and furious pace entertaining our lively audience.

Thanks to our incredible sponsors NZ on Air, New Zealand Film Commission, South Pacific Pictures and Filthy Productions for making the SWANZ a platform to celebrate and recognise New Zealand Writers. Thanks to all our judges. Thanks also to amazing  Taste Catering for delicious food and wonderful service.

SWANZ Awards

South Pacific Pictures – Best Feature Film

Hunt for the Wilderpeople, Taika Waititi

Best Short Film

Every Moment, Gabriel Reid

Best Play

The Quiet Room, Renee Liang

Best Episode TV Series – Comedy

Step Dave Series 2, Episode 3, Shoshana McCallum

Best Episode TV Series – Drama

Westside Series 2, Episode 1, James Griffin

Best Factual Script – Film or TV Documentary

25 April, Leanne Pooley and Tim Woodhouse

2016 NZWG Mentorship Award

Bill Manhire

New Writer Award

Casey Whelan

Unproduced Script Competition (USC)

USC – TV Pilot

Firebug, David Mamea

USC – TV Pilot – Highly Commended

Best Friend Ever, Allan George
Wanted Men, Fiona Samuel

USC – Feature Film

The Floating World, Jacqueline Owens

Full list of nominees found on NZWG SWANZ page

Alice Shearman
Executive Director – New Zealand Writers Guild
alice@nzwritersguild.org.nz / 09 360 1408

This entry was posted in Competitions Grants & Awards, Events, Industry News & Events, Latest Entries On The Bulletin Board, NZWG News, Winners. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
Code by Michael Bao