Script Writer Awards 2016 WEB COLOURS


The NZ Screen Production Industry’s most laid-back, fun awards!

2016 Finalists & Winners – SWANZ & USC

New Zealand Writers Guild is proud to announce the winners of the 2016 SWANZ awards.

Another fantastic night — celebrating the story tellers and tales told — was had by all. Our hosts Jackie Van Beek & Jessie Griffin regaled us, drinks & conversation flowed,  Taste Catering provided fantastic food, the room buzzed with wonderful people – all with the support (and participation, yay!) of our sponsors – NZ on Air, NZ Film Commission, South Pacifc Pictures & Filthy Productions!

SWANZ Awards 

South Pacific Pictures – Best Feature Film

Born To Dance,  Steve Barr, Casey Whelan & Hone Kouka
Hunt for the Wilderpeople,  Taika Waititi WINNER

Best Short Film

Every Moment, Gabriel Reid & Maile Daugherty WINNER
Judgement Tavern,  Dean Hewison

Best Play

Officer 27,  Aroha Awarau
The Quiet Room,  Renee Liang WINNER

Best Episode TV Series – Comedy

Step Dave Series 2 Episode 3,  Shoshana McCallum WINNER
Step Dave Series 2, Episode 5,  Kate McDermott

Best Episode TV Series – Drama

800 Words, Episode 5,  Tim Balme
The Brokenwood Mysteries Series 2, Episode 4,  Tim Balme
Shortland Street, episode 5967,  Libby Bird
Westside Series 2, Episode 1,  James Griffin WINNER
Westside Series 2, Episode 8,  Kate McDermott

Best Factual Script – Film or TV Documentary

25 April,  Leanne Pooley and Tim Woodhouse  WINNER
Forensics: Operation Edgewater,  Belinda McLeod and Damon Fepulea’i

2016 NZWG Mentorship Award

Bill Manhire

New Writer Award

Casey Whelan

Unproduced Script Competition

USC Home page

USC – TV Pilot

Burnt Spur,  Shoshana McCallum
Firebug,  David Mamea  WINNER
True Blue,  René Le Bas

USC – TV Pilot: Highly Commended

Best Friend Ever,  Allan George
Wanted Men,  Fiona Samuel

USC – Feature Film

The Board,  Kristi Barnett
Domebusters of Waihopai!,  Rex Nicholson
The Floating World,  Jacqueline Owens  WINNER
Hongi,  Simone Nathan
Where Babies Come From,  Steven Gannaway

Thank you to our amazing sponsors:

 NZOnAir_Positive_2014_RGB 300pxNZFC-Logo-webSPP MiniLogo_whitefilthy-productions-logo





for more information contact alice@nzwg.org.nz


SWANZ Winners & Finalists 2015

SWANZ Winners & Finalists 2014

SWANZ Winners & Finalists 2013

SWANZ Winners 2012:  to be added

SWANZ Winners & Finalists 2011

SWANZ Winners & Finalists 2010



The inaugural SWANZ ceremony was held in November 2010, by the New Zealand Writers Guild.
This initiative was created to recognize and acknowledge the storytellers behind the screens and stages of New Zealand.

“We believe that our stories should be shared and should be celebrated. These awards and the evening event do just that for the best in the country.”
Steven Gannaway, SWANZ-founding former-Executive Director, NZWG

That first SWANZ met with widespread acclaim, and now SWANZ is an annual event and a major date on the stage and screen industry calendar.

Rumours abound… SWANZ is fabled as the most laid back awards ceremony in New Zealand. The NZWG aims for SWANZ to be heavy on joie de vivre and light on rhetoric so everyone can get down to the important stuff – celebrating together.

SWANZ is an opportunity to celebrate with New Zealand’s best film, stage and television industry writers in a relaxed and fun atmosphere.


Nominations for SWANZ open around late June each year

Finalists are announced around two weeks ahead of the ceremony & event for the SWANZ Awards.

The SWANZ event is scheduled — to nestle alongside the weekend of the Big Screen Symposium — on a Thursday night: late September–early October each year.


Best: Feature Film Script
Best: Short Film Script
Best: Play  
Best: Radio Play  
Best: Episode TV Series: Comedy  
Best: Episode TV Series: Drama 
Best: Episode Web Series 
Best: Script One-off  TV  Drama  
Best: Documentary Script  
Best: New Writer

Unproduced Script Competition (USC) – Unproduced Script Competition: the competition – and awards – for works that are yet to be made
Best: UNPRODUCED Feature Film Script
Best: UNPRODUCED t.v. pilot


Nominations for 2016 are now closed – thanks for your nominations!

Nominations for made works — screened or performed 22 September 2015-22 September 2016

Deadline/Nominations close – 05 August 2016 @ 12pm

usc-unproduced-script-competition-2016-web-900pxWant to enter the Unproduced Script Competition? *CLOSE FOR 2016*

— for Unproduced Feature Film and TV Pilot scripts yet to be made — open to everyone!
The winners of the USC are announced at SWANZ!

For more information email alice@nzwritersguild.org.nz


  1. Place an Online Order and pay your Entry Fee:
    Online order – Pay for your SWANZ Nomination
    NZWG Members only may be nominees, anyone may be the nominator
  2. Download and Complete Nomination Form:
    Download 2016 SWANZ NOMINATION Form
  3. Post or Deliver the following:
    • Signed Nomination Form with details of the work in full – must have air/be performed between September 2015 and September 2016

NZWG Script Reg Service
PO Box 47886
Auckland 1144

NZWG Script Reg Service
400C Great North Rd
Grey Lynn




Was held on Thursday 22 September
Doors 7.30pm | Ceremony 8.00pm
Classic Comedy Club
Queen St

$35 per member | $45 per non-member | Entry (doors 7.30pm) | Limited Open Bar from 7.30pm: Get in Quick  |
all night $ Cash Bar follows | Finger Food & Frivolity

Code by Michael Bao