SWANZ Winners & Finalists 2016

Script Writer Awards 2016 WEB COLOURS

7th Annual Script Writer Awards Winners!


2016 Finalists & Winners – SWANZ & USC

New Zealand Writers Guild is proud to announce the winners of the 2016 SWANZ awards.

Another fantastic night — celebrating the story tellers and tales told — was had by all. Our hosts Jackie Van Beek & Jessie Griffin regaled us, drinks & conversation flowed,  Taste Catering provided fantastic food, the room buzzed with wonderful people – all with the support (and participation, yay!) of our sponsors – NZ on Air, NZ Film Commission, South Pacifc Pictures & Filthy Productions!

SWANZ Awards 

South Pacific Pictures – Best Feature Film

Born To Dance,  Steve Barr, Casey Whelan & Hone Kouka
Hunt for the Wilderpeople,  Taika Waititi WINNER

Best Short Film

Every Moment, Gabriel Reid & Maile Daugherty WINNER
Judgement Tavern,  Dean Hewison

Best Play

Officer 27,  Aroha Awarau
The Quiet Room,  Renee Liang WINNER

Best Episode TV Series – Comedy

Step Dave Series 2 Episode 3,  Shoshana McCallum WINNER
Step Dave Series 2, Episode 5,  Kate McDermott

Best Episode TV Series – Drama

800 Words, Episode 5,  Tim Balme
The Brokenwood Mysteries Series 2, Episode 4,  Tim Balme
Shortland Street, episode 5967,  Libby Bird
Westside Series 2, Episode 1,  James Griffin WINNER
Westside Series 2, Episode 8,  Kate McDermott

Best Factual Script – Film or TV Documentary

25 April,  Leanne Pooley and Tim Woodhouse  WINNER
Forensics: Operation Edgewater,  Belinda McLeod and Damon Fepulea’i

2016 NZWG Mentorship Award

Bill Manhire

New Writer Award

Casey Whelan

Unproduced Script Competition

USC Home page

USC – TV Pilot

Burnt Spur,  Shoshana McCallum
Firebug,  David Mamea  WINNER
True Blue,  René Le Bas

USC – TV Pilot: Highly Commended

Best Friend Ever,  Allan George
Wanted Men,  Fiona Samuel

USC – Feature Film

The Board,  Kristi Barnett
Domebusters of Waihopai!,  Rex Nicholson
The Floating World,  Jacqueline Owens  WINNER
Hongi,  Simone Nathan
Where Babies Come From,  Steven Gannaway

Thank you to our amazing sponsors:

 NZOnAir_Positive_2014_RGB 300pxNZFC-Logo-webSPP MiniLogo_whitefilthy-productions-logo




This entry was posted in Competitions Grants & Awards, Winners. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
Code by Michael Bao